Tags

, ,

Image

This week I made a research portfolio instead of food.  It is fat and beautiful and full of interesting ideas (some of which, I flatter, I wrote myself!!).  For the past week and a half, every moment that wasn’t spent studying for music theory or writing my gender paper has been spent slaving over Jane Austen.  And now all that’s left is to turn it in.  It’s exciting, but also bittersweet in a way.

Here is where I make an awkward segue from bittersweet emotions to semisweet chocolate.  Because I can’t possibly go into spring break without writing something about food.  Goodness knows for the next week I’ll be spending plenty of time eating, making, and writing about food, but spring break hasn’t technically started yet because the green monster is still on my desk.

I made these mint chocolate chip cookies a long time ago, and just didn’t get around to posting about them.  They are absolutely beautiful, and just as delicious as they look.

Image

Isn’t it strange how colorful things almost always look more delicious?  These cookies are super minty, so it would just be weird if they weren’t green, right?  Plus food coloring is just a ton of fun.

I made these cookies with my friend Vicky the first weekend I went home this term.  Most of the pictures in this post are hers, because she’s a seriously amazing photographer (and I am not).

Anyways, because my research portfolio has leeched almost all the non-Austen thoughts from my head, I’m just going to launch into the recipe.  And I promise that the next few posts should be much more interesting.

Ingredients:

1 pouch Betty Crocker sugar cookie mix

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon mint extract (this stuff is strong!)

6-8 drops of green food coloring

1 egg

1 cup creme de menthe chips

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350.  In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except creme de menthe and chocolate chips.  Then stir in all the chocolate.

2. Drop dough onto cookie sheets.

3. Bake 7-10 minutes or until set.  I think I baked mine 7 minutes–I like my cookies soft and gooey.  Also, watch out for brown creeping up the edges of the cookies.  In my first batch, I baked them a little too long and the cookies turned a really unpleasant brown-green around the edges.  They taste fine, they just look kind of icky.

Image

I ate like five of these in one sitting.  It was horrible.  But they’re just absolutely delicious (and so easy!!!).  In my opinion, they get even better when they’re a bit cooler–especially if you slightly underbake them like I do.  Also, Vicky tells me they are delicious with milk.

Anyways, as spring break is nigh, and I have a long list of things to cook, there will probably be a bevy of updates over the next week.  Probably not for the first few days though, because I will be sleeping.

Happy spring!

