Tags

, , ,

Today I woke up at 12:30 in a post-finals daze.  Last night I had a delicious dinner and watched TV for the first time in over a month.  It was glorious.

But just because I got up ridiculously late doesn’t mean that I wasn’t productive.  In fact, I was very productive.  And as soon as I get onto a regular-person sleep schedule, I will become even more productive.

When I found this recipe last week, I practically started drooling.  White chocolate.  Oats.  Sea salt.  Yes please.

I’ll say this right off the bat: my cookies didn’t turn out quite like I thought they would.  However, I’m definitely not complaining, because these cookies are magnificent.  Crispy, chewy, gooey, sweet, salty—everything that is wonderful.  I made them a few hours ago, and there are only five cookies left.  My mom even said that they are the best cookies she’s ever had.

I made a few changes to the recipe.  Instead of using old-fashioned oats, I just used quick-cooking oats.  Also, I decided to use gluten-free flour instead of wheat flour.  Perhaps as a result, my cookies turned out thin and crispy instead of thick and crispy, but I am so okay with this.  Previous to today, I didn’t know that cookies could be both crispy AND chewy, but somehow these cookies defy expectations.

Next time I make these (and there will certainly be a next time) I might try wheat flour—I’m sure they would be just as delicious.  But in case you’re wondering, these cookies are completely delicious with gluten-free flour.  Anyways, on to the recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

¾ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon table salt

14 tablespoons butter, softened

1 cup sugar

¼ cup packed brown sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 ½ cups oats

6 oz good quality white chocolate bar, chopped

½ teaspoon flaky sea salt

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.  Whisk together first four ingredients in a small bowl.
  2. Cream together sugars and butter.  Add egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated.  Slowly add flour mixture, beating each time until smooth.  Finally add the oats and the white chocolate and beat until incorporated.
  3. Form the dough into balls.  For me, this made 30 cookies, but the original recipe says it makes 24 cookies.  After placing balls on a cookie sheet, use the tips of your fingers to press the dough down until it’s about ¾ in. thick.
  4. Sprinkle a few flakes of salt on top of each cookie.
  5. Bake until cookies are golden-brown, 13-16 minutes, rotating pan halfway through.  (I actually only baked mine for 10 minutes since they spread out so much.)

Have you ever had melted white chocolate?  It’s to-die-for.  I just can’t stop eating these cookies.  It’s becoming a bit of a problem.

This is going to be a truly marvelous break.

