Tags

, ,

Forgive me for my negligence!  School started back up last week and, what with actually having homework again, I completely forgot about my blog.

We’re only in the first full week of school and I’m already exhausted.  Spring break, where did you go?!  Also, what’s with having work the first week?  Sometimes I miss elementary school, where the first week back we just collected school supplies and wrote our names on pencils.  My life would be so much easier.

Granted, my life would be more boring because today I learned how to produce a structuralist analysis of just about anything—including Spongebob.  That was my class today.  It was awesome.  But despite the fact that I am learning awesome things, I am bone tired.  It’s Friday and I’m considering going to bed at nine.

Because I’m really tired, I thought it would be super appropriate to write about something that is both ridiculously easy and delicious.  Even someone as tired as I am could find the strength to make blueberry bagels.

Last term my friend Q asked me to try making blueberry bagels.  She was horrified when she found out that I’d never had a blueberry bagel before, so before I left for home she made me promise I would make some.

You’ll need a bread machine.  I mean, you don’t need it technically, but it makes life so much nicer.  Plus it chops up the blueberries so the flavor mingles throughout the bagels.

Ingredients:

3 cups bread flour

2 tablespoons sugar

1 ½ teaspoons salt

1 packet dried yeast

1 cup + about 1 tablespoon warm water

10 tablespoons dried blueberries

Corn meal

3 quarts of water

3 tablespoons sugar

  1. Dump everything in the bread machine.  Select dough setting.
  2. When the dough cycle has finished, bring the water + 3 tablespoons of sugar to a boil.  Preheat oven to 375°
  3. Meanwhile, take the dough out and form it into nine equal rounds.  Poke holes in each round and stretch a bit.  Let the bagels rest under a clean kitchen towel for about 10 minutes.
  4. Boil the bagels for 30 seconds on each side.  Set on a towel to drain.
  5. Dust a baking sheet with corn meal.  Set bagels on the sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes.
  6. Remove from oven.  Devour.

Delicious.  So good.  For somebody who had never had a blueberry bagel in her life, I quickly fell in love.  Blueberry bagel and cream cheese=breakfast of champions.

Anyways, my agenda for the weekend involves drooling over the memory of these bagels and writing a structuralist analysis about the movie Billy Elliot.  Ahh, bagels…

