Tags

,

We went on road trips a lot when I was a little kid, and my family would always stop at McDonald’s for breakfast.  My standard order was as follows: milk, hashbrowns, and a cheese danish.  Maybe the cheese danish was a regional thing, because none of my friends at school have even heard of a McDonald’s cheese danish.  Apple, yes, cheese, no.  Well.  They were delicious.  (Unfortunately, they were discontinued years ago.)  So cheesy and gooey and buttery and…mm.

Anyways, a few weeks ago, I asked my friends what I should try and bake.  My buddy Amelia said that I should make cheese danishes, and I said, “UM YES.”

So I started searching for danish recipes.  There are many.  Then I decided maybe I was being a little ambitious, and I scaled back down to simpler recipes.  That’s when the lovely and magnificent cheese danish bar appeared.

I say this literally every time, but…this recipe is so easy.  The hardest part was lifting the dough to cover the cheese layer.  And that was only difficult because the dough came out of a can and had perforated lines all over it, so it wanted to tear into crescent rolls.

They don’t taste exactly like the McDonald’s danish I crave so dearly, but that’s okay because I’m working up to it.  They’re delicious even if they aren’t flavored with nostalgia and romanticism.  I absolutely love the creamy cheese layer, and the glaze, while extremely simple, really makes these bars fantastic.

Ingredients:

2 cans of Crescent Rolls, any kind

2 packages cream cheese

½ cup sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 egg

1 egg white

Glaze:

¾ cup powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons milk

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.  Grease a 9×13 pan, and unroll one can of crescent rolls into the pan, pinching together the seams.
  2. Beat together the cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, and the whole egg.  Spread over dough.
  3. Unroll the second can of crescents and pinch together the seams.  Place gently over cheese mixture.  This was literally the most difficult part.  Seriously.  Brush the dough with the egg white.
  4. Bake for 25-35 minutes or until top is golden brown.  Let it cool for 10-15 minutes.  Meanwhile, beat together the ingredients for the glaze.  Drizzle over the danish bars.  Cut into however many bars you want (I wanted 30).  Devour.

These are really great slightly warm, but I personally think they’re best at room temperature.  Yum.  I ate like five of these while watching Jesus Christ Superstar with my family.  By the end of the movie, the pan was half gone—they’re just too addicting.

