Tags

, , , ,

Image

At long last I return.  This past term at school was a really busy one, so besides having practically no time to write up a post, I also had no time to cook up anything to write about.  I learned many awesome things (including how to use literary theory in real life, how to dig an archaeological site, and how to write a minuet!!) but am extremely glad to be home for the next few months.  That’s right, summer is here, which means that I actually have time to do non-academic things again!

The idea for these cookies started earlier this year, when I had my first Take 5 candy bar courtesy of my friend Amelia.  They are delicious!  I absolutely love the salty/sweet combination that is so popular in the food world right now.  There should be more salty and sweet things, in my opinion.

A while ago, I found this recipe and a devious plan began to grow in my head.  Peanut butter chips are all well and good, but what about peanut butter cookies instead?  Enter this recipe and my plan was complete.

Take 5 cookies.  I would make them be real.

Now, finally, at long last—here they are.  They didn’t get here without a hassle—I’d planned to make them at school, so I bought some chocolate chips, which promptly melted in the car when I was moving back home.  So I had to hack those into nasty little chunky bits before I could even start the cookies.  But after that it was all smooth sailing.

But I doubt you guys are all that interested in my chocolate woes.  So instead, here, have a recipe!  I like to think that I can say this recipe is actually mine, completely unique to me, since I messed around with a couple recipes to get it.  It’s kind of exciting, having your own cookie recipe.

A note about butter: if you use unsalted butter, consider adding in ½ teaspoon of salt to the batter.  If, like me, you use salted butter, just leave the salt out.  You may not need to add salt in any case, thanks to the pretzels!

And a note about yield: the peanut butter cookie recipe I used claimed to make 24 cookies.  Somehow I ended up with 42.  So I say the yield is whatever you want it to be and depends on how big your cookies are.

Amanda’s Take 5 Cookies

1 cup butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup chunky peanut butter

2 eggs

2 ½ cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt (if using unsalted butter)

1 cup chocolate chips

½ cup broken up pretzels

Pretzels, not broken

  1. Cream together the butter, sugars, and peanut butters.  After these are combined, add in the eggs and beat.
  2. Combine the flour, baking soda and powder, and salt (if using) in a separate bowl.  Slowly beat into the batter.
  3. Slowly beat in chocolate and pretzels.Image
  4. Chill in the fridge for about an hour.
  5. Scoop dough in big balls onto a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Press a whole pretzel on top of the cookie.
  6. Bake for 7-10 minutes at 375°.

I am extremely happy with the way these turned out.  The peanut butter cookie is soft and just a little chewy, while the chocolate gives a hint of sweetness and the pretzels give a whole lot of crunch and a bit of salt.  Definitely one of the more interestingly textured cookies I’ve ever had.  And they even taste like the candy bar!

All in all, a very good way to start the summer.

