Tags

, ,

My second foray into cooking with Meyer lemons was…interesting.

This time, I made lemon blueberry scones.  Scones (and biscuits in general) are really fun to make because you get to be pretty hands on with the dough.  When you’re folding fresh blueberries into the dough, it’s almost impossible to use a utensil other than your hands.

So I actually had a pretty awesome time making these.  The problem is, I made a ton of mistakes.  I am super tempted to blame this on the poorly formatted recipe but in reality I was probably just careless.  Oh well.  What are mistakes for, if not to help us learn?

My first mistake was when I put three eggs into the dough instead of two.  I actually didn’t realize this for a while and instead was just super excited about the lovely golden color of the dough.  Then it occurred to me to wonder why exactly the dough was so yellow…so that was my first slip-up.  When I realized the first one, I also realized that I’d completely left out the sugar, salt, and baking powder.  By this point, I’d already mixed in the blueberries, so I had to dump in the rest of my ingredients and—you got it—overmix the dough.  So frustrating.

To make up for the fact that I made some pretty serious blunders, I sprinkled a ton of raw sugar over the tops of the scones.  They actually turned out really pretty!  So blue and yellow and with lots of gooey blueberry…

Unfortunately, they’re also extraordinarily dense.  I figure this is a combination of the extra egg and the overmixing.  Oh well, they still taste decent, and I figure if they taste okay even with all those mix-ups, it must be a pretty good recipe.  I’ll definitely try these again sometime soon, and next time I’ll do it the right way.

Meyer Lemon and Blueberry scones

2 cups flour, unsifted

3 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons sugar

½ teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons of butter

2 eggs

½ cup heavy cream

1 ½ cup blueberries, preferably fresh

Meyer lemon zest (of three lemons, but you can use however much you want)

1 egg white

Sugar or raw sugar, for sprinkling on top

  1. Preheat oven to 400°.  Combine flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder in a large bowl.  Using a pastry cutter or a fork, cut the butter into the flour mixture until the entire mixture is crumbly.
  2. In a separate bowl, beat together the cream and two eggs.  Stir the egg mixture into the flour mixture.
  3. Stir in blueberries and zest (this is where it’s really helpful to use your hands).  Don’t overmix the dough!
  4. Turn the dough onto a floured surface and press it into a lump.  If you need to, add more milk or water a tablespoon at a time to help the dough hold together.  I, of course, had to add more flour thanks to my extra egg.
  5. Carefully (don’t pop the blueberries!) roll the dough out until it’s about an inch thick.  Cut into whatever shapes you want.  I used a round biscuit cutter.
  6. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, or at the very least thoroughly grease your pan.  These scones are super messy because of the blueberries, and they would have been really hard to pry up if I hadn’t used parchment paper.  Consider using a pan with upturned edges to prevent dripping in the oven.
  7. After placing the scones on the pan, brush them with the egg white and sprinkle sugar on top.
  8. Bake about 15 minutes, or until golden.

I’m really excited to try making these scones again, but in the meantime, you guys can all learn from my mistakes and make lovely, delicious, flaky scones!

Up next—Meyer lemonade!

