Tags

,

By now, it’s probably pretty obvious that I have fallen in love with Meyer lemons.  Don’t get me wrong, I adore regular lemons as well, but there’s just something very special about these.  I love that they’re just the slightest bit less sour and acidic.  They’re delicate.  Summery.

The problem with summer is that it’s hot, which means that sometimes it just isn’t that fun to spend time around a hot oven.  I usually don’t mind too much, but today I decided to take a break.

You know the saying: when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

Well, life didn’t exactly give me these beautiful Meyer lemons, and instead I made lemon bars and scones.  Finally, I decided I should make lemonade.

The great thing about Meyer lemons is that they’re a lot softer than regular lemons, which means you hardly have to work to get all the juice out.  I expected making lemonade to be like the time I made freshly squeezed orange juice (now that was labor-intensive).  Instead, it probably took me ten minutes tops, and I am totally willing to spend that time for delicious lemonade.

I actually have a bit of a problem with the recipe I used.  This might just be me, but I like my lemonade more on the tart side than the sweet side.  ¾ cup of sugar seemed like an awful lot to me, but I went for it anyways.  After following the recipe exactly, my lemonade was way too sweet, so I added another cup or two of water and (this part is really appalling) about a teaspoon of regular lemon juice to cut the sweetness a bit.

These Meyer lemons have brought plenty of learning opportunities, and now I know that making lemonade is an extremely subjective experience, not to be taken lightly, and always to be tasted frequently while making.

Maybe you prefer your lemonade sweet—if you do, this is the recipe for you.  If you like it more sour, try less sugar.  Maybe mess around with what kind of sweetener you use.  Honey?  Agave?  You are the master of your own lemonade.

Meyer lemonade

4 or 5 Meyer lemons

Water

¾ cup sugar (or however much you want to use)

  1. Cut the lemons in half.  Juice into a container.  I find it easiest to put a little strainer over the mouth of the container to catch seeds and pulp, but you can also just fish these things out with a slotted spoon.
  2. Dissolve the sugar in a cup of hot water.
  3. Pour 4 cups of cold water into the container with the lemon juice.
  4. Pour the sugar water in.  Give it all a good stir.
  5. Taste.  Adjust as needed.
  6. Chill until serving.  I kind of like mixing some mint leaves in there for a little extra oomph.

I was really surprised by how much lemonade I managed from my four little lemons.  Don’t get me wrong, I am totally excited about having homemade lemonade for the next few days.  It’s just crazy that I got a whole pitcher-full from probably about 4 tablespoons of juice.

So that finishes off this round of Meyer Lemon Madness.  I highly doubt that I’m done with these little beauties though—I still have three months of summer left!

