Tags

,

 

I’ve been trying so hard to find recipes for my Meyer lemons that use the whole lemon.  None of this “½ teaspoon of zest and 3 tablespoons of juice” business because then that leads to me going completely crazy and zesting a bunch of lemons into a little Tupperware container which is now living in the freezer.  I refuse to waste one little bit of these beautiful lemons.

I vaguely remembered that there was such a thing as marmalade.  This remembrance led to the realization that marmalade has strips of peel in it.  I quickly dug up a recipe and rejoiced when I discovered that marmalade uses the whole fruit—including the seeds!

Marmalade is, in my opinion, one of the most interesting of jamlike spreads.  Yes, it’s extremely sweet, but the flavor is a lot more subtle than regular jam.  It’s a little bit bitter, a little sour, a lot sweet.  Plus it has the added benefit of looking like a jar full of goldfish.

Anyways, I made marmalade.  I thought it would be extremely difficult but no, not really.  I made a few rookie mistakes, like cutting the peel a little too thick (although this does mean that I get beautiful chunks of candied lemon peel on my toast) and possibly cooking it too long (which is probably why I ended up with two jars instead of three).  However, it’s super easy!  Basically it’s just cutting stuff up and then cooking it.

I halved this recipe because the thought of having six jars of marmalade sitting around made my teeth hurt a little bit.  If you want to go ahead and can the marmalade like in the original recipe, go for it.  I decided not to.

This recipe requires some special equipment: cheesecloth or a coffee filter, plain white cotton thread, and three (or in my case, two) ½ pint Mason jars.

Meyer lemon marmalade

3 Meyer lemons

2 cups water

2 cups sugar

  1. Cut lemons in half and remove the seeds.  Use the cheesecloth/coffee filter and string to make a little bag for the seeds.  Quarter each lemon half and thinly slice.  Put everything (including the seed bag) in a 5-qt nonreactive pot with the lid on, and let it sit at room temperature for at least 24 hours.
  2. Remove the seed bag and bring the mixture to a boil over medium heat.  Reduce the heat and simmer uncovered for about 45 minutes or until the mixture has reduced somewhat.
  3. Add sugar to the mixture and bring it back to a boil, cooking until a dollop of the mixture gels on a cold plate.
  4. Spoon marmalade into the jars and place lids on top.  Allow to cool completely before putting in the fridge.

This stuff is great on toast.  It would probably also be delicious on biscuits.  In addition to tasting fantastic, it’s also a beautiful color—bright yellow.  It’s probably the most summery marmalade I’ve ever seen.  Enjoy!

 

