Tags

, ,

Today’s post is an extra-special-awesome one for many, many reasons.  These reasons are as follows: 1) I totally invented this recipe! 2) I made these with my friends Vicky and Emily when they visited me. 3) Vicky took all the pictures, which is probably the MOST exciting thing because she is actually like, a professional photographer.  You guys should all check out her photography page because she’s amazing and you won’t regret it!  4) Buckeye brownie bites.  Yeah.

The idea for buckeye brownie bites was born after Vicky found out about my Take 5 cookies.  She immediately requested that I make a recipe that would mimic Reese’s cups.  So I began thinking.  Right from the get-go, I knew I would use something similar to buckeye filling for the middle.  But the chocolate part kept me thinking for literally a month.  At first I thought I wanted it to be chocolate cookie dough.  But that didn’t seem quite right.  Finally, it came to me—brownie batter.  In a mini-muffin tin.  Perfect!

Anyways, enough of me rambling on.  Have a recipe!

Brownies:

2 ounces unsweetened chocolate

½ ounce semisweet chocolate (1/2 a square)

½ cup unsalted butter

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

½ cup flour

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

Filling:

1 cup powdered sugar

½ cup peanut butter

1 scant tablespoon milk (really I didn’t measure, whoops, but I think it was about this)

Just a warning: because I haven’t had the chance to refine this recipe yet, you’ll have a lot of filling left over.  But it’s totally delicious so I’m sure you can find lots of fun recipes to throw it in.  Or, if you’re like me, you can just eat it plain.  Yeah, that happened.  I regret nothing.

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. In a small saucepan over low heat, melt the unsweetened and semisweet chocolate and the butter.  Set aside to cool.
  3. In a bowl, beat eggs and sugar until light and creamy.  Mix in the vanilla.
  4. Mix in the flour, salt, and melted chocolate.
  5. In a separate small bowl, mix together the powdered sugar, peanut butter, and milk.
  6. Dig the mini-muffin pan out of the depths.  Place mini-muffin papers in each cup.  (I should note here that I did not use papers for my brownie bites, but I definitely should have.  These guys stick.  Please, learn from my mistakes.) Using a ladle, fill each cup about halfway full.
  7. Using a spoon, carefully place a somewhat flat dollop of the peanut butter mixture in the middle of each cup.
  8. Cover the peanut butter dollops with the remaining brownie batter, squashing down any dollops that show above the batter.
  9. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out with only a few crumbs.

Okay, so they’re actually a little labor intensive.  I’ll admit it.  But they’re totally delicious and therefore worth all the trouble!  They’re chewy and rich and so chocolatey.  And the peanut butter does the most magical thing—it bakes into the brownie walls, forming a tiny little hollow in the middle.  We had 24 brownie bites.  They were all gone by the next day.  All of them.

If any of you guys decide to make these, I’d love to hear about it!  Or if you have any ideas for how I could make these even better, I’m all ears.  Happy baking!

