Tags

, ,

So, all y’all who follow me on here may have noticed that…it’s been a while.

Unfortunately, life got in the way of me continuing my food blog—school, health, lots of things.  But now it’s summer again, and I’m going to try another go of it! 

One significant change in the kinds of foods I’ll be making concerns wheat.  A particularly stressful winter term triggered a wheat allergy for me and, well, I try to avoid wheat as much as I can now.  I’m not a celiac or anything, just allergic; it makes my hands get really stiff and achy, which is bad because I’m a student (typing and writing are a problem) and a church pianist.

Luckily, I’m up for the challenge.  I love experimenting with different gluten-free recipes for dinner and dessert, and I’ve found some real winners.  Some of my new recipes are pretty labor intensive, some of them are super easy.  Today I’m writing about an easy one.

Image

Literally all you have to do for this recipe is chop stuff (if you do it the way I do).  I guess it would be called vegetable tikka masala, but whatever you call it, man—this stuff is good.  Creamy, tomato-ey, rich, and with a really complex spice mix that I can’t even begin to describe.

A bit of background—my favorite restaurant in the world is Masala, in Iowa City.  Tons of delicious Indian food, most of which is vegan or vegetarian.  Paradise.  Anyways, so when I saw a jar of tikka masala simmer sauce at TJ Maxx, I just got ridiculously excited and had to buy it.  And when I finally cooked with it, I fell in love.

Image

So, this recipe is really as labor intensive as you want it to be.  I’ve never made the sauce myself because I am lazy, and, uh, I don’t make the rice either.  Here’s a little secret: I cannot make rice.  No matter how many times I try it, I just can’t get it right.  Hence, dear old Uncle Ben.  This stuff is delicious and comes in a ton of varieties, and takes just minutes to make!  Magic.  So, if you, like me, are lazy about certain things, just buy yourself a jar of tikka masala and a few bags of Uncle Ben. 

Image

As for the veggies, the ones listed are just the ones that I’ve tried with the sauce.  The first time I made it, I used tofu, which was fabulous.  The second time, I replaced the tofu with potatoes, which were also fabulous.  Just pick your favorite veggies and throw ‘em in.  I mean, eggplant might be a little wonky, but I really think most vegetables would be delicious.  This recipe makes about 3-4 servings.

Image

Here’s what you need for this recipe:

Oil (I used peanut)

Handful of red bell pepper, chopped        

Handful of sugar snap peas, chopped

Two large carrots, sliced

Handful of firm tofu, cubed

OR

Four or five red potatoes, chopped into small cubes

1 jar of tikka masala sauce (Maya Kaimal and Seeds of Change are both awesome)

Heavy cream (optional)

Rice (I like Uncle Ben’s brown basmati but really anything will do)

  1. Heat up the oil in a medium sauce pan.  Dump in all the vegetables.  Sauté everything for a while until stuff starts to get soft.
  2. Dump in the sauce.  If you want to, pour in a little heavy cream.  Leave it to simmer for as long as it takes for everything to get fork tender (depends on your veggies, so it can be anywhere from 10-30 minutes).
  3. Microwave rice.  Alternately, if you want to actually make your own rice, you should probably start your rice going before you start everything else.
  4. Scoop rice onto a plate or a bowl or whatever you want.  Scoop sauce onto rice.  Chow down.

Image

Okay, so this is like the easiest thing I’ve ever made.  You literally just chop all your veggies and then, like, let it stew.  Plus it’s super delicious, so you should probably just go by some tikka masala sauce already and get going.

 

 

